Remove Threema ID from Current Device
Would you like to remove your Threema ID from the current device in order to create a new ID or to restore a backup? Remove your ID by tapping “Delete ID” (Android) or “Remove ID and Data” in the profile tab in the Threema app. On iOS, an additional dialog will appear, in which you can confirm your choice. When starting Threema the next time, you can use the setup wizard to create a new ID or to restore a backup.
Please note: When removing your Threema ID as described above, the ID will only be removed from the current device. In case the ID is also set up on another device, it will not be removed there. Also, the removed ID can still be restored if a backup was created.
Permanently Remove Your Threema ID
If you should ever happen to lose access to the device on which your Threema ID is set up (e.g., if the device is stolen), you can revoke your ID only if an ID revocation password was set. You can set an ID revocation password under “My Profile > ID Revocation” (Android) or “Profile > ID Revocation Password” (iOS).
On iOS/iPadOS, it is possible to revoke your ID and data directly in the app. To do so, you need to have access to your ID, but no password is required. Navigate to “Profile” in the Threema app, and tap “Remove ID and Data.” In the following dialog, tap “Revoke Threema ID” in the text under the box. Another dialog will appear, which requires you to enter your Threema ID to revoke it.
When revoked, the Threema ID can no longer be used. When the Swiss Post and Telecommunications Surveillance Service (PTSS) requests user data associated with a revoked Threema ID, the fact that it has been revoked and the date of revocation are provided. This data does not allow any conclusions to be drawn regarding the identity of the person behind the revoked Threema ID.
Without access to your ID or without a previously set revocation password, it is not possible to revoke the ID. However, the ID will be marked as inactive automatically after three months of inactivity.
If you revoke your ID, other users will be unable to send messages to this ID after about one hour. Within 24 hours, the ID will be crossed out (or hidden, if the “Hide Stale Contacts” option is enabled) on your chat partners’ contact lists.